Workflow Part II - Wireless Sharing Images with Clients


In part 1 of this Workflow series we described some common workflows for viewing images: Workflow Part 1 - Wireless Tethering & Viewing Images.

While those workflows can certainly be used with clients, in part 2 we cover some example workflows specifically designed for wirelessly sharing images with clients, students and directors.

Client Mode

Client mode is a setting within the CamRanger app and is available on the iPad or an Android device. When turned on, the camera controls are removed from the app. The user can still view thumbnails and images, but can not change anything with the camera. Additionally, instead of being able to view any of the images on the camera's memory card, the client is only able to view those taken during the current session.

The typical use case of client mode is the following: the photographer gives the client a tablet running the CamRanger app with client mode on. The photographer then shoots from the camera while the client can follow along and view images at their own pace. If the client want to see the images as they are taken, simply turn on the "auto-view" within the CamRanger settings within the app. The photographer can also selectively send certain images as described in Part 1.

Note that client mode is not available on the Mac or Windows CamRanger application. However, from the View option on the menubar it is possible to remove the camera controls. Client mode is not available on the iPhone.

CamRanger Wireless Tethering Client Mode
CamRanger Wireless Tethering Sharing

CamRanger Share app

The CamRanger Share app is a completely separate application from the normal CamRanger app. From the normal CamRanger app the photographer can share images and live view with users of the CamRanger Share app. The photographer has complete control of what is shared with the Share app. The CamRanger Share applications and user guide can be found on our downloads page. This Share app tutorial video demonstrates the setup and usage of sharing.

The exact sharing workflow is configured with the following three settings:

  • Share Live View: This settings controls whether or not the live view stream is sent to share devices.
  • Auto-Share Thumbnails: When on, each thumbnail that appears in the main CamRanger app will also appear as a thumbnail on each Share app. The Share app users can independently select thumbnails to view the full resolution image. If this setting is off, then the thumbnail will not appear until the corresponding image is shared.
  • Auto-Share Images: When this setting is on, any image that is displayed on the main CamRanger app will be automatically sent to any share devices. When it is off, images need to be individually and explicitly sent to share devices.
  • The iOS and Android Share applications do not allow the shared images to be saved to the device. The Mac and Windows Share applications do save the images to disk.

    A common question is how many CamRanger Share devices can be used. The answer is very dependent on the exact scenario, most importantly, the distance/signal strength to each of the devices and the size of the image being shared. Assuming good connections and a small JPG is being shared, each additional device will add about a second or so to the total time. As a general rule of thumb, if everyone is relatively close and small images are being used perhaps up to a dozen share devices can be used if the images are not being shared rapidly. However, there are a lot of factors involved.