Automatically View Images Wirelessly

To control whether or not images are automatically downloaded, the photographer can use three different Auto View settings. A video further explaining CamRanger Auto View can be found below.

CamRanger Auto View Video

CamRanger Auto View can be accessed in the Controls & Workflows section of the settings. There are three options to choose from: OFF, ON, and Camera. These settings can be continually changed.

CamRanger Auto View Setting

Auto View – OFF

The Auto View OFF mode does not automatically display images, and thumbnails must be individually selected. This mode is ideal for when the photographer is taking many images and only wants to view select images, such as situations where the photographer is shooting sports, wildlife, birds, etc.

Auto View – ON

The Auto View ON mode automatically displays images as they are taken. This mode works well for traditional tethering workflows, such as when a photographer is shooting with a client or director and would like to show images as soon as possible.

Auto View – Camera

The Auto View Camera mode does not automatically display images, but images can be displayed as controlled by the photographer’s camera. An image must be modified on the camera in order to be displayed. Methods to do so include: – Canon: give the image a rating – Nikon: “lock” the image – Sony/Fujifilm: not supported

When an image is downloaded, any auto sharing is triggered, such as Auto save, FTP transfer, CamRanger Share or Dropbox uploads. So the auto view settings can be used in combination to create different workflow options.

Auto View Images

For a demo of the auto view settings and how they work, please check out our YouTube video.

The CamRanger mini and CamRanger 2 can be configured to automatically display images as they are captured. This behavior is controlled by the Auto View Images setting within the Controls section in the settings in the CamRanger app. Off is the default value. thumbnails for new images are displayed, but the user must select a thumbnail to view the image. When set to On, images will be automatically displayed after the thumbnails appear, without any user action.

The CamRanger mini app only has these two options, On and Off. The CamRanger 2 also has a “Camera” setting. When set to Camera, the photographer can control from the camera which images are displayed. How to trigger an image from the camera to be downloaded depends on the camera manufacturer.

  • Canon – Change the image rating (can immediately be changed back)
  • Nikon – Lock the image (can immediately be unlocked)
  • Fujifilm – Camera does not support this feature
  • Sony – Camera does not support this feature

The Camera setting for Auto View Images can be very useful in giving the photographer more control from the camera. It can also be combined with image sharing options such as Dropbox or FTP to control from the camera which images are shared.